Cages We Bought

“Everyone I come across in cages they bought.
They think of me and my wandering but I’m never what they thought
Got my indignation but I’m pure in all my thoughts.
I’m alive” -Eddie Vedder, Guaranteed-

Guaranteed by Eddie Vedder is one of those songs that play as my life’s soundtrack again and again. But, it was especially significant when I was traveling around Granada, Spain.

I remember sitting down overlooking the Al-Hambra for the very first time in 2013.

It is one of the most breathtaking things I have ever seen in my life. When you enter the compound of the building you get this sense that you’ve entered a fantasy world that is worthy of an HBO series.

I never thought that I would be so lucky to see such a thing in my lifetime. My own cage of what’s possible in terms of Architectural wonders was shattered when I looked at it. My mind would not have thought it was possible because I myself couldn’t imagine such a place until that point. Before this trip, I had never heard of the Al-Hambra and it was my mother who insisted that we paid it a visit.

2016-12-07-12.18.39-1.jpg.jpg
“Everyone I come across in cages they bought. They think of my and my wandering but I’m never what they thought. Got my indignation but I’m pure in all my thoughts, I’m alive”

 

 

Looking at such a great accomplishment by a great civilization made me reflect on the naysayers I have met in my life. It’s crazy how much we can accomplish in our lifetime and if we just read a bit of history we’ll be able to see mankind has done the impossible time and time again.

We all live in this cage that we ourselves bought which limits our imagination. Breaking out of it is not an easy task but why would anyone want to go through life with limiting beliefs? Does life become better just because we put limitations on ourselves? Are we protected from harm with such limitations?

No, life still knocks us out the same. However, I have never met someone who is negative achieve anything impossible or noteworthy. People who believe in the impossible always manage to do so because they never stop believing and striving. They understand that failure is a part of the journey and not an excuse to stop working.

We can hide away from our life’s mission in our cages forever. Disguised as something practical or even a necessity. And life would be exactly that forever. Safe and comfortable in a cage. Cursing away at anybody else who’s willing to take a leap of faith and go out there through the trenches to see if there’s more.

Or, we can look inside our hearts. Set our intentions right and go out to the world to build our own Al-Hambra. We become alive when we’re building for something that would last beyond our own short life.

Share with me your own reflection on the verse from the song and if you ever had a moment such a feeling arises in life
: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mwx3RvDWvDM

Leave a Reply

