Peace of Mind

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
A peace of mind. You are a fleeting piece of mine in this temporary skin, but I will continue to search for you.

 

A peace of mind. As my days add up on earth, I cherish this more and more each day.

If God could make this piece, mine, it would be worth more than 1000 pieces of gold.

I was 16 and a friend told me this story.

A room filled with a dozen people was asked a question.

That if they could ask for anything right now. What would it be?

The answers went from a car, a house, a million dollars, the perfect partner and the list goes on.

Only one person said that they would ask for eternal happiness. He was saying that what we really want from all the material things we ask for is actually happiness.

We only ask for those other things because we think that they will make us happy.

I couldn’t really grasp the point at that time. A decade later and I’m only starting to have some idea of what that story meant.

Eternal happiness is not something that we can attain in this life. We’re just not built that way.

This world itself is not meant to be eternal. Our state in it is also impermanent.

A peace of mind, however, is something I believe to be worth fighting for.

To be at ease with both the ugly and beauty within me.

To understand that the chaos is there to help me rise above.

The destruction is necessary to make space for greater things.

A star is born when a gaseous nebula collapse. That we must fall to rise.

I guess we really can’t have love without chaos. Nor can there be fire without heat.

To find beauty in our imperfection is the only way I can find peace in this world.

A peace of mind. You are a fleeting piece of mine in this temporary skin, but I will continue to search for you.

For to live and die in such a state would be the Olympic Medal I have to attain.

Originally published: https://tatooineboy.wordpress.com/2015/09/08/peace-of-mind/

Leave a Reply

