May The Fourth Be With You: Prison

 

May the fourth be with you all.

“There is more than one prison. I think you carry yours wherever you go.” -Chirrut Imwe-

This quote by one of the Guardians of Whills is one where I am learning to practice. When he said this to Cassian, he was referring to Cassian’s guilt for the horror he committed as a rebel.

Our minds can lock us in all sorts of imaginary problems. That is the worst kind of prison to be in.

By allowing ourselves to go, only then can we see things for what they are.

Time for the Jedi to End

The cure to freeing our minds? Reading.

While in prison Malcolm X spent many hours reading. On some days up to 12 hours a day. Serving seven years in prison and using that time to consume books daily the way he did is an act of liberation.

In my university days, I’m not sure if I even read 12 hours in a month. There was always something to distract me from actually getting the time down to read.

Now, I am doing my best to cultivate the habit of reading in my daily routine. I always have a clearer head once I go through the clutter of understanding someone else’s mind.

Without knowledge, there really is no way for us to be free of the prison the mind can build.

 

Leave a Reply

