Never Alone

Life throws us into different directions all the time as we’re on its journey. Re-navigating ourselves to get back on the right track is part of the journey. There are times we might have to continue the journey on our own and this can lead to feeling lonely. Having traveled alone through various countries I know how lonely the road can make one feel.

However, being alone is essential for one to grow and move forward. It gives us the freedom to mold ourselves the way we believe to be true to who we are.  During this time, we are able to see what we’re made of as our faith is tested.

2017-06-08-03.25.05-1.jpg.jpg

When we are willing to go out on the road on our own, we are opening up to new possibilities. Once you open yourself up to the world is when you realize that we are never alone. Not for a moment. When we go out to the world we are making a statement. A statement that works as a prayer that would be answered.

Sincerity in our journey will bring the people that we need in life at exactly the right time. This was true when I was on the road and it remains true in life. I’ve had various incidents where I thought I had to walk alone but people would somehow always show up when they are needed.

One example was during 2013’s Raya/Eid whilst I was traveling in Rome on my own. I’m used to songs, food, family gathering, children running around during this time of the year. I was about to spend it alone that year. It was a conscious decision on my part.

After I was done with my studies in the UK, an opportunity to travel around Europe would not come by easily. I was there by choice but, I can’t help but notice the people spending time with their loved ones. Loneliness creeps up on me.

The next thing I knew was that I got connected with Danial. Someone I was acquainted with back in Oxford.

I ended up walking around Rome with him and Dina(his partner) on that day. It turned out to be one of the best parts of my Euro adventure. The two of them was kind of enough to have me with them and we all shared stories with each other. One story that stayed with me until today was one of going to Oxford University.

2017-06-08-03.25.06-2.jpg.jpg

I’ve always been under the impression that all these Oxford University students have always had their lives figured out. Danial shared an interesting bit about his life. He was not the best student in high school.

2017-06-08-03.25.06-1.jpg.jpg

In fact, his grades were not all that impressive even for the average performer. It was during his university days where he really performed and outdone himself in both the classroom and outside of it. He had help from others of course. But, it was that combined with his determination that secured him a place in a Postgraduate program at Oxford University.

One of the reasons why I love that story is that it’s a reminder to me that it’s not about how we start and it doesn’t matter what state we are in at the moment. What matters is if we’re willing to do something about it and change our situation. Once we take that first step internally, the right people will come to aid us in our journey.

We are never alone in our journey. We get to where we are because of the help that we receive. Yes, we all need to put in the work ourselves but we get ahead with others. They come hand in hand. Never in isolation. I recently spoke to a Muay Thai Silver Medalist and she told me how this rings true in a fight.

Fighting in the ring seems like a scary feat. Especially since it’s just you and your opponent. It looks as though you are fighting for yourself. But, she told me that in the ring you are fighting for the people cheering for you in your corner. You’re doing it for them and you don’t care about getting hurt because they supported you to get to where you are.

Keeping this in mind I like to remind myself that on days where it feels like I’m facing the world alone that I have people in my corner, cheering me on. The same way I would be in their corner and cheer them in their own bout with life.

Life sends us who we need when we need them. Not as we want them. Know that the only thing we need to focus on is being sincere in our journey and we will never be alone.

 

Leave a Reply

